Power Library Databases

Power Library resources are made possible in part by Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services and through Library Access Funds administered by the Office of Commonwealth Libraries, Department of Education, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Wolf, Governor.

 

Academic OneFile

Find peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals in the areas of the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, literature, and more. Undergraduate researchers can expand and refine search results through the Topic Finder, and citation tools are integrated directly into the user’s workflow.

AP Images

AP (Associated Press), one of the oldest and largest news organizations in the world, has been capturing the greatest events in world history with photographs, audio sound bites, video, and graphics, for over 185 years.

Books & Authors

Discover fiction and non-fiction books that match your interests! Books and Authors (powered by Gale’s popular What Do I Read Next? series) is for readers from every level of reading proficiency and enables users to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics from more than 240,000 titles.

BookFLIX

Scholastic BookFlix is a new online literacy resource for grades pre-K – 3 that pairs classic video storybooks from Weston Woods with related nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic to help build a love of reading and learning.

Access PA

Books, movies and more in a PA library (Access PA Database)

Books, movies and more in a PA library (also known as the Access PA Database) is a combined catalog reflecting the holdings of over 2,600 Pennsylvania libraries and their combined collections of over 43 million books, audio materials, reference materials, movies, and much more.

Business Insights: Essentials

Find full-text articles and statistical data about companies and industries for business owners, marketing professionals, investors, and students. Access to over 11,000 journals and more than 8,900 in full-text. Instantly analyze and compare financial and statistical data with interactive charting tools. Find thousands of detailed financial reports, more than 2,500 custom business glossary terms, 1,000 SWOT reports, over 17,400 company histories, over 460,000 detailed company profiles, and much more

Consumer Health Complete

CHC is designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Content covers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. 

Contemporary Authors

This e-resource provides access to biographical and bibliographical information on more than 145,000 of today’s most influential authors. 

CyberSmarts

CyberSmarts

This interactive e-book collection for grades 3 – 6 offers users a safe, simulated Internet experience with hands-on instruction on how to deal with important online safety issues. 

eBooks on EBSCOhost

Formerly known as NetLibrary, this e-resource provides access to hundreds of thousands of books from the world’s leading publishers across all major subject areas.

Educator’s Reference Complete

Access over 1,100 academic journals and ERIC database reports in the field of education. Key subject areas include administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing.

ALE Virtual Reference Library

Explore encyclopedias and specialized reference sources on a variety of topics from history, government, environment, math, and more!

General OneFile

Explore this general-interest periodical resource offering nearly more than 15,000 titles with more than 8,800 in full text. With millions of articles available in PDF and HTML full-text, the collection is also supplemented by reference, newspaper, and audio content.

 GREENR (Environment, Energy, etc.)

Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources (GREENR) offers researchers an interdisciplinary resource for environment and sustainability studies. GREENR provides news, background information, video, commentaries, primary source documents and statistics in relevant topic areas such as energy systems, healthcare, food, climate change, population, and economic development.

Informe Academico

Informe Académico proporciona acceso a periódicos y revistas especializadas de lengua española y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenidos sobre América Latina.

Informe Académico supports Spanish-speaking researchers with a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Use the Topic Finder—a visual search tool—to discover new facets of a topic, or use the Readspeaker text-to-speech tool that allows text to be read aloud.

nfoTrac Newsstand

Browse and read full-text newspapers from more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, plus leading titles from around the world, or search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. InfoTrac Newsstand also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.

InfoTrac Student Edition

Secondary school students will have access to age-appropriate content from magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, and engaging multi-media covering a wide range of subjects, from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies.

Kids InfoBits

Elementary students in kindergarten through grade five will find age-appropriate content covering a broad range of educational topics such as animals, arts, geography, health, literature, people, social studies, technology, etc. Kids InfoBits includes full-text proprietary content from Blackbirch Press®, U-X-L, KidHaven Press™, and more! Content is continuously updated and provides interesting and important facts with connections to current and past events.

LitFinder

Discover literature content from more than 150,000 full-text poems, 840,000 poem citations and excerpts, 7,100 full-textshort stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays published in the 16th-20th centuries, 2,400 full-text speeches, and 1,250 full-text plays. It also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary. Within LitFinder’s collection, users can access works from over 80,000 authors from 660 nationalities.

Pennsylvania Job Resources

Pennsylvania Job Resources

POWER Library presents two sites provided by PA government entities to help with job resources. 

POWER Search

Search many of the Gale e-resources available in POWER Library in one place! Find articles and information from Academic OneFile, General OneFile, InfoTrac Newsstand.

Research in Context

Discover reliable and trusted information on a variety of topics to support middle school student research for government, U.S and world history, geography, literature, sciences, and social issues. Research In Context offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state standards, and presents material organized into a highly visual and topic portal approach to quickly find answers.

 Science Reference Center

The Science Reference Center database provides articles and digital book for student research. It also provides images, videos and an in database dictionary to enhance the research experience.

TrueFLIX

The truth. The whole truth. And nothing but the truth about people, places, nature, history, science, and more! TrueFLIX provides eBooks that are enhanced with a related content in a variety of text types and media–including primary sources, fiction, videos, audio clips, images, and related websites.